So, here it is – my first review. As a confessing rookie,  one question you always ask yourself is „Where is the big difference between an 10, 12, 15, 18 year old whisky distilled by the same company?“. So this is the first topic I wanted to deal with.

I am going to judge the whiskys by 3 categories: Colour, Nosing and the Taste. In the end I try to give points from 1 to 100, which are very subjectiv, because of the little experience I was able to collect over the last couple of years.

I have two scotch single malt whiskys from the famous distillery Glenfiddich, the basic 12 year old and the 15 year old. Let’s give it a try:

Colour: the 15 year old was way brighter than the 12 year old (15 year old on top):IMG_20170413_234341

Nosing: The colour reflects in the scent of these whiskys. While the smell of the 12 year old is way heavier – and in my opinion fruitier -, the smell of the 15 year old is softer, round and very balanced with perception in my olfactory nerves.

Finally, the taste:

First, the 12 year old: a nice, fruity flavour rushing over my tongue, nuances of pear and florals, then discreet sweetness with an slightly spicy finish.

Now the 15 year old: Oh, that was, for me, unexpected. I drank almost a bottle and didn’t notice it, but now, in comparison, it’s crystal-clear: the very smoky character of the glenfiddich. It’s more smooth and harmonic than the 12y, full of flavour and a dainty sweetness. The finish is the definition of „oak“ – as you can read it in many whisky reviews.

So, I guess in every aspect you can see, which one is the „older brother“. The maturity of the 15y is obvious in colour, nosing and taste.

Glenfiddich 12y: 73/100
Glenfiddich 15y: 86/100

Thanks for reading!

4 Kommentare zu „The Glenfiddich Showdown

  1. Nice comparison. The 12 YO is one of my favourite malts up to this point. Very balanced and pleasent aromatic profile, I don’t think anyone will turn it down when offered.
    Got a miniature of the 15YO unopened in the cabinet, and now your review inspired me, I might just try it out this weekend.

    Gefällt 1 Person

  2. A very good Overview of the Glenfiddich. It isn`t my favourite. My current favourite is the 16 year old Aberlour. Matured in Sherry Cask. Just came back from Islay and Skye. So i can recommend the 10 Year Laphroaig, if you like peated Whisky.

    Gefällt 1 Person

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback! These are great recommendations – I’m currently trying to explore the „classics“ of the big brands first, but especially the Laphroaig is one of the next on my list.

      Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

